



PROCLAMATION

OF THE

MENDOCINO COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

RECOGNIZING MAY 15, 2020 AS NATIONAL PEACE OFFICERS MEMORIAL DAY AND MAY 10-16, 2020 AS NATIONAL POLICE WEEK IN MENDOCINO COUNTY

WHEREAS, in 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week which May 15 falls as National Police Week, the annual tribute to law enforcement service and sacrifice; and

WHEREAS, there are over 18,000 Federal, State and local law enforcement agencies around the United States, and an estimated 750,000 to 850,000 sworn officers; and if you count non-sworn personnel who work and support those officers you have over 1 million people working to serve and protect the people of the United States; and

WHEREAS, the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund web page shows 128 officers were lost in 2019 (a decrease of 18% from 2018 statistics) and for 2020, so far, the number of fatalities is 14. Since 1863, the Mendocino County Sheriff's Office has experienced eight losses; and

WHEREAS, from the beginning of this Nation, law enforcement officers have played an important role in safeguarding the rights and freedoms which are guaranteed by the Constitution and in protecting the lives and property of our citizens; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that we express our gratitude for the dedicated service and courageous deeds of law enforcement officers and for the contributions they have made to the security and well-being of all our people; and that we remember those officers we have lost and honor their memory; and

WHEREAS, in great appreciation and admiration for a most difficult job, one that often puts officers lives in danger and requires great personal sacrifices in order to promote and maintain public safety for all;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Supervisors of the County of Mendocino, hereby proclaims May 15, 2020 as Peace Officers Memorial Day and May 10-16, 2020 as National Police Week in Mendocino County.

Dated: M	ay 5 th , 2020
John Haschak, Chair	



